Screenwriting Analysis of Barbie

Ken is more of a PROTAGONIST than Barbie herself.

Seda A.
9 min readJul 30, 2023
Tara Winstead on Pexels

Hear me out as I have nothing against this movie. In fact, I’m all for it.

But screenwriting was a disaster and it’s no one’s fault. This may happen with big movies and I’ll tell you why as I’m a screenwriter myself in Hollywood.

For a more detailed video version of this analysis, you can refer to:

Before we begin:

My admiration for Greta Gerwig and her contributions to the film industry knows no bounds.

I have always been drawn to her work, which celebrates strong, dynamic female characters as I, too, write about women empowerment.

My stories are always about women going on transformative journeys, breaking free from societal norms, and embracing their true selves.

I got rejected so many times by executives in Los Angeles because of my stories being “too feminist.” A video about how managers try to change my women empowerment stories is right here, and I experience…

--

--

Seda A.

Screenwriter & Storyteller, coming from Chemical & Biological Engineering and Music background ✍🏼👩🏽‍🔬⚗️🎹🎻🎤🔮